Defend Your Rights. Protect Your Future. Demand Justice.
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Learn More About The Arkansas Criminal Process
  4.  » Criminal Charges And Penalty Ranges

Charged With An Offense? Understand The Penalties Attached To A Conviction.

At Wesley Rhodes, Attorney at Law, I defend residents of Little Rock and the surrounding area who are charged with misdemeanor and felony offenses.

I realize that the Arkansas criminal process, criminal laws and penalties can be difficult to understand without a legal background. I am including this information about criminal charges and penalty ranges so that you know the penalties you may face if you are convicted.

Please contact my firm today to learn more about my criminal defense services and learn how I can help you or a loved one defend your future.

Traffic Violations

The penalty for a criminal traffic violation such as driving on a suspended or revoked license is a $500 fine and a two-day minimum jail sentence. The maximum sentence for this conviction is six months. In addition, the period for license suspension or revocation may be extended.

The penalty and fines for DWI/DUI conviction vary according to the type of offense and number of DWI/DUI convictions you have received within a certain time period. For example, if you are convicted of a first-offense DWI, you may receive a one-year jail sentence and fines up to $1,000.

If you are convicted of a felony DWI, you may be fined up to $5,000 and sentenced to up to 10 years in prison.

Violent Crimes And Property Crimes

Misdemeanor criminal offenses for crimes against the person or against property are divided into four classes.

  • A Class A misdemeanor offense may result in a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a fine of $2,500.
  • A Class B misdemeanor offense may result in a maximum sentence of 90 days and a fine of $1,000.
  • A Class C misdemeanor offense may result in a maximum sentence of 30 days and a fine of $500.
  • There are also Unclassified misdemeanors, and their punishment varies depending on the crime that is charged.

In addition to the misdemeanor classes, there are 5 felony classes.

  • Class Y felonies carry the heaviest penalties, with minimum sentencing of 10 years and a maximum sentence of 40 years or life in prison.
  • Class A felonies are one step down from Class Y felonies. The punishment range for Class A felonies is 6 to 30 years and a fine of up to $15,000.
  • Class B felonies have a punishment range of 5 to 20 years and a fine of up to $15,000.
  • Class C felonies have a punishment range of 3 to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
  • Class D felonies have a punishment range of 0 to 6 years and a fine of up to $10,000.

Drug Crimes

Penalties and fines attached to misdemeanor convictions for drug crimes depend on a variety of factors, including the amount in possession and the defendant’s criminal background. Defendants charged with Class A misdemeanor offenses may be sentenced to up to a year in jail and be fined up to $2,500.

Defendants charged with felony marijuana trafficking or simultaneous possession of drugs and firearms face a minimum 10 years in prison and up to 40 years. They may also be fined $15,000.

Facing A Criminal Charge? Exercise Your Right To Qualified Representation.

I have dedicated my legal career to fighting for my clients’ rights. Get the qualified representation you need when you retain me, lawyer Wesley Rhodes.

Please contact my firm to schedule your free initial consultation. You can reach me online or over the phone at 501-301-4591.